Today family members do not eat meals together. Is this a positive or negative trend.

It is a fact that people, nowadays, rarely spend time having meals with their families. This trend has introduced both positive and negative aspects because of the benefits and drawbacks which have been brought to human life.

To begin with, not eating meals with family will bring about an advantage for both each individual and their family. It is evident that people do not eat meals with family members so as to avoid conflicts between generations. It is hard to minimize the generation gap between the young and the old, especially during meal time. When the young people have meals with the old, they have to obey a variety of cultural manners that are hassle and disturbing. Thus, they have a tendency to eat food alone or with others like friends, who are in the same generation as them. In addition, each member of the family has their own portions. For example, adolescents prefer eating fast food to consuming vegetables while adults and elderly people prefer to eat healthy food such as rice, meat. Hence, instead of forcing them to eat food that they do not like, people are likely to have meals on their own.

However, with no family meals, people will lose valuable opportunities to strengthen their family relationships. During a meal, everyone in the family can share with one another news or stories and advice on solving particular problems. However, when there are no meals to be shared, the bonds between family member start to be weaken. Take a recent research at Columbia University as example. It is said that the frequency of Americans having family meals has steadily fallen over the past decade. As, a result, the communication and feelings in these families reduced remarkably.

In conclusion, this trend shows effects on both sides whether it is positive or negative. There is a plus point to not having meals with family regarding to avoid the generation conflicts. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of losing the opportunities to strengthen family relationship.