Some people think that big companies should provide sports and social facilities for the local community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been heated controversy on whether big corporations should install sports centers or social facilities for neighborhoods. Although many argued that companies can directly benefit communities, I am quite certain that only the companies would benefit from this, and this should be the government’s duty.

First of all, making major companies take on such responsibility would be equivalent to making a sponsorship deal. While it is true that local sports facilities promote good health and social centers provide cultural attractions which enrich citizens’ lives, big companies could easily view them as advertisement opportunities. If given the role, they would exploit those facilities to promote their brand (imagine your playground looking like a shoe store like Nike). Moreover, those corporations could charge money to use them, as their simple goal is to earn profit.

Second of all, some organizations may not approve of the idea, as it would distract them from their targeted customers and main products. For example, it would be unreasonable for a huge software company like Microsoft to build an exercise area for the elderly, because they majorly produce computer parts. Therefore, the government should be the one who invests financial resources in building these city add-ons, because the facilities can be ad-free, aimed solely towards the communities’ well-being. Local businesses could be taxed, while maintenance fees could be paid by authorities.

At the end of the day, the government is responsible for building local recreational facilities, not the companies. Personally, it is better for the authorities to provide recreational facilities as businesses would use them mainly for self-promotion.