Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. What is the reason for doing that? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

In this ever-changing world, many parents want their kids to excel in almost everything, which means higher pressure and expectation on children. As far as I am concerned, this development has introduced both positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, it is obvious that pressure would bring about several advantages. Firstly, parents of today strongly believe that educational achievement is a strong foundation for their offspring's success in the future. We can all see that the world is growing dramatically day by day. Meanwhile, companies also require high-qualified employees. Therefore, if children do not get any degrees or professional certifications, they would not stand a chance of getting a good job. Furthermore, there is no doubt that many kids could only perform better under pressure. In order to satisfy their parents' desires, they put themselves in intense competition with other peers. This definitely will push them to work harder.

On the other hand, turning to the opposite perspective, there are some inevitable drawbacks of this trend. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), suicidality among children has witnessed a significant rise in recent years. This is the consequence of deterioration in kids' mental health, with an increase in anxiety and mood disorders. When it comes to handling stress, children would run into a lot of problems. Last but not least, kids who have to put up with parental pressure are more likely to become rebels. As a result, they will refuse to cooperate and try to avoid communicating with society.

To summarize with the arguments given above, I firmly think that pressurizing children would show impacts on both sides whether it is positive or negative.