Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. What is the reason for doing that? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

In this day and age, there is no doubt that a lot of parents (with the craving for their children’s success) are going whole nine yards to increasingly pressurize their offspring so that they can perform greatly at school, possess high academic results, and even achieve a bachelor’s degree. This can generally sound bittersweet as the kids are trading short-term time for long-term results, but in my point of view, those actions will eventually lead to extremely negative development in the minors.

There are two main reasons why parents intimidate their offspring so much, and they both mostly originate from the parents’ competitive mentality. Firstly, to enhance the quality of education in their academic paths. As a matter of fact, due to social stereotypes, children are often told that having a great educational background and grades will guarantee them a successful life. In other words, young people who graduated with better qualifications from education centers have greater opportunities at finding occupations with high salaries or at better positions (these details can also increase the parents’ pride towards their kids), which are critical factors in modern society for living comfortably. Secondly, in the majority of parents’ mindsets, children must need an extra push and motivation to perform well and achieve better results. To illustrate, not a small number of teenagers, who are not able to concentrate on school-work efficiently by themselves, often get exposed to tremendously high tension and expectation by their parents in order to compete with their contemporaries.

However, keeping some intentional force on their kids will cause some serious consequences indisputably. In the first place, lacking the ability to make decisions would usually ruin a person’s life, rather than helping them to flourish. Even if they want to gain experience trying out new habits, activities, or lifestyles, the miserable children, with zero willpower, are too afraid to oppose their parental overwhelming circumstances. Another adverse impact is that they may suffer from stress and anxiety, which can directly affect their psychological state, leading to even more severe mental health issues in later phases of life. Furthermore, having to suppress too much can make some youngsters disobey and refuse to cooperate. Accordingly, they will attempt to avoid communicating with other individuals and even cut themselves off from society or commit suicide at last.

To sum up, even if the pressure can support the children’s future to a certain extent, its harm to both their personality and mental health far outweighs anything else. It's always recommended for parents to do things as per their kids’ wishes and give them a chance to decide their own paths so that it won't have any negative repercussions: “Vultures pick the meat clean off a bone. Guilt eats at the marrow, leaving a man hollow.” They should not restrict the minors’ ambitions, activities, and also freedom of speech and thought.