Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. What is the reason for doing that? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

Children, especially in an era of extreme competency, are entitled to an amount of stress coming from their own parents. This essay attempts to provide plausible explanations for such a conspicuous phenomenon and a plethora of deleterious consequences subjected to the ongoing existence of this scenario.

A bleak reality in which children are burdened by pressure coming from their own parents could be attributed to a number of justifications. To commence with, parental expectation is partly accountable for youngsters' mental suffering. In most cases, they expect their kids to fulfill the dreams that they had missed out on during their teenage years. As a result, the nightmarish fear of failure once experienced by parents becomes a force targeted at teenagers to complete their goals at all costs. Adding further, competency is among the most predominant factors leading to childrens’ suffering of parental pressure. In such a scenario, it is believed that increased competency would act as a source of motivation for juveniles to constantly emulate self-betterment, both academically and non-academically.

The negative consequence of this incident is not invisible. To put it clearly, incessant receiving of high expectations and pressure from their family would result in childrens’ severe mental health degradation. Having to deal with that much stress might bring them closer to sources of distraction that are detrimental to both their physical and psychological well-being. In reality, teenagers suffering from parental burden are more vulnerable to social adversaries such as overuse of drugs, smoke, or alcohol than those who receive a healthy and balanced mental treatment from their families.

All in all, the aforementioned discussion has spotted high expectations and increased competency as the two most prevalent causes of stress placed on children. In the long run, the ongoing existence of this scenario would negatively affect the child’s mental health.