Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. Why is the reason for doing that? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

From this day and age, children have been undergoing heavy pressure from their own parents. There are many explanations for parents’ coercion which can be seen clearly in our society. From my perspective, this trend is negative due to the drawback brought to the victims.

In total, there are two main reasons that lead to children’s mental burden. First, parents often highly expect their children to achieve difficult targets and have a glorious life without any concerns. It means that the offspring would have to take a huge effort to study and practice hard for high grades at school in order to satisfy their parents’ desire. For Instance, they have to enrich their knowledge for 12 hours a day in all weeks by taking part in different extra classes including night shifts. The other reason is that parents are afraid their children would make mistakes as they did in the past. As the result, they push their children over limitations so as not to do the same.

In consequence, children may suffer from severe effects caused by the pressure from parents. One negative impact is that children may lose the ability to make their decisions by the fact that their parents always be the ones who control everything. In other words, it is hard for children to live independently and fulfill their ambitions as they have to follow in their mother’s or father’s footsteps. Moreover, children may easily deal with a lot of failures while completing tasks on the ground that parents’ expectations are out of their reach. This can result in more depression and disappointments, which may cause the children to hurt themselves terribly, or even suicide if they are unable to handle the pressure anymore.

To conclude, the reasons why parents put heavy pressure on their offspring are high expectations and fear of children’s mistakes. This is a negative development for the children regarding indecision and less motivation in life.