The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, some have expressed support for a single united government to reign over humanity, replacing the idea of each country owning a respective national government. As lofty as it may sound, whether the benefits outweigh the drawbacks will only be transparent after analysis.

United under a one-world government has various advantages, especially the unification of systems that people encounter in everyday lives. This means consistent units of measurement, as there would be no need to translate miles to kilometers or pounds to kilograms. As a result, life would be much more convenient. Similarly, a single currency utilized widely would speed up every transaction. Moreover, establishing a one-world government would render national boundaries obsolete, and the resulting freedom of transit would free mankind from physical distance. Flying to exotic holiday spots weekly, for instance, would become far more feasible. Hence, the benefits of a unified world-state will be greater.

However, this scenario may have more negatives than anticipated. It is worth noting that as the notion of states fades, so will the need for foreign threat protection. Consequently, the military would be deployed to police the world's large population, risking human liberty to maintain peace. Furthermore, one government cannot physically expand, which means distant lands may disapprove of its decisions. Conflicts will inevitably develop, mostly given humanity's cultural and historical diversity, and addressing them at their base would necessitate oppressive measures. In the end, the advantages of a world state would come at the price of more basic issues.

To summarize, having a single ruling authority would do more harm than good. People should be controlled by themselves, or at least by those physically and culturally nearby. Supporting a worldwide state would be a dishonest trade-off of human autonomy for comfort.