The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a noticeable reduction in the number of crimes committed recently as opposed to the past. Some assume that advanced technology has been helpful in the investigation and prevention of crime, while others argue that it was ineffective. I stand by the opinion of the premier group, and this essay will provide practical evidence.

To begin with, crime-solving has never become easier thanks to new studies about human biology and genetics. Policemen can analyze collected fingerprint markings and things containing the suspect’s DNA to find the criminal’s identity. Using a fingerprint or DNA database, they can easily identify a specific individual, conveniently shortening the search time.

Additionally, there are various ways to study human movements and prevent some crimes, meaning that people’s actions can be predicted through some algorithms. For example, banks have a coded algorithm to discover any suspicious actions like loitering in a certain area for longer than normal, this has led to a decrease in bank robberies in the past years.

From a different perspective, technology can prevent crime by spreading propaganda to the public, moving towards a more honest society. The popularity of social media has effectively helped the government enforce laws, the citizens acknowledge the result of their actions. Spreading a positive message to do good deeds through the media has done wonders to reduce crime.

To sum up, the new technological lifestyle has many merits and demerits, but in matters regarding the law, not only does it help monitor and prevent criminal activities, but it also cultivates people to be on the right path and stops crime before it happens.