In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In this day and age, people have the tendency to go to out-of-town shopping centers; therefore, many small town-center shops are on the verge of bankruptcy. This leads to a list of foreseeable consequences, including the growth in automobile usage. Although this modification can have several drawbacks, I believe that the merits outrank the shortcomings.

On the one hand, there are some negative aspects of large out-of-town stores. Firstly, it is a matter of the country's economy. If people keep choosing large businesses over the smaller ones, these shops may be threatened with shutdown. As a result, it is inevitable that a huge number of employees might face losing their jobs. Furthermore, people who do not own a private car could not access large malls easily, which lead to limited shopping preferences.

On the other hand, we have to consider how beneficial this trend could be. To commence with, since these big stores are located on the outskirts, they would not have to pay much for the rental fee. Consequently, the tradesmen are able to sell the same product at a lower price to their customers than the small downtown shops. Another reason is that large shopping centers would undoubtedly provide a wider variety of goods. Thus, buyers could purchase diverse items at once. For this reason, air pollution will be decreased significantly due to the reduce in citizens' transportation. Last but not least, getting out of town is definitely a good idea for those who want to escape from their harsh reality. They can enjoy this shopping time as a peaceful weekend getaway.

To summarize with the arguments given above, I firmly think that the upsides of larger stores located far away from the central city overweigh its downsides.

Lastly, various metropolises, including Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh City have been dealing with the dramatic growth in population number. In consequence, residents’ move to the outskirts helps to reduce the pressure on not only housing systems but also the traffic congestion.

In conclusion, although the trend of shopping in larger stores located far away from the city centrals have several negative effects, I would argue that the favorable aspects of this trend outweigh the adverse ones on behalf of the stores’ ability to help solve some problems in the modern cities.