Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, we are surrounded by many advertisements made by different companies in order to sell their products, so according to some, the most crucial factor contributing to high demands of commodities is the power of advertisement. Therefore, people purchase popular goods without thinking about whether they really need them or do not. In my opinion, I agree that advertisements have a significant impact on individuals’ way of shopping.

Firstly, the companies tend to introduce their products and tempt people to buy them. Advertisements are by far the best way to promote new products and win the attention of the crowd. It is believed that the more people get informed about the company’s products, the higher sales volumes will become. In other words, people mostly buy products based on information which have been received before. Therefore, the companies are constantly seeking for an array of tactics and strategies such as TV commercials, plastering walls with flyers, telemarketing and online ads to present the unique features of their products to persuade most people to pay.

The second point to consider is that manipulative advertisements which are made by companies and those misleading ads exaggerate the efficiency of some goods tempting people to purchase. For instance, some TV commercials target the elderly and sell healthcare products that postpone skin ageing. Moreover, inviting prominent celebrities to use and ensure these products convinces a majority of people to purchase without further ado. Actually, both company and the celebrity know that these types of products are just false claims. Hence, this way of marketing can create a superficial desire for individuals to buy the products though they really do not need them.

In conclusion, high volume sales of products point towards the power of advertisements rather than the actual requirements of the buyers. From my point of view, there is no doubt that advertising has a significant role in selling consumer goods.