Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is a manipulative tool that controls consumers’ needs. Hence, some people believe that advertising boosts sales of products, and it encourages people to buy unnecessary products. In my opinion, I agree that the power of advertising interferes with people’s decision as they buy needless goods.

First, one of the primary cause of this phenomenon is that advertisements aim millennial generation by tempting them to stay up to date with the latest trend. For example, nowadays, a substantial proportion of young generation have more than one smartphone due to the strength of advertisements which sheds light on the features of the new phone. Therefore, they contribute to profoundly impacting on people’s decision as they succumb to the temptations of these desirable items with considerations.

Second, the prevalence of the brand promotion either on billboards on streets or on televisions is the original rationale for purchasing superfluous products. For instance, marketing companies hire popular celebrities to promote a product on their TV commercials, so they attract a large number of people purchase their products even if they do not need them. As a result, not only do they surge the sales of their most common goods but they also grow their profit. People seek after what satisfy their desire rather than cater their basic needs.

In conclusion, the power of advertising poses a credible threat to people because it leads them to waste their money on useless items. I concur that the advertisements are the true culprit for buying consumer goods, resulting in higher sales.