Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is certainly true that consumption of a product is affected by its advertisement. However, it is also a fact that the actual need is utmost important for the high sale of any item.

With the advancement in the field of information technology, different means of advertising has been invented. Furthermore, utilization of various products is directly proportional to the publicity of goods. For instance, product and taste really matter in case of soft drinks. As there are many good quality carbonated breavages available in the market but people prefer to use Pepsi because of its huge advertisement. In addition, advertising companies specially target a particular age individual to increase their sale. For example, many ads focus on children, which later on compel their parents to buy that object. Thus our needs and psychology is influenced by the advertisement to a greater extend.

On the other hand, actual requirement of a product is also necessary for it sale. This trend is much more common in the small villages where advertising is not frequent. Let us consider an example of our province, here most of the advertising agencies focus on main cities while ignoring small towns. As a result, in these rural areas people buy products according to their needs. Moreover, most of the inhabitant of these regions are illiterate and only understand local languages. Therefore, unfamiliar languages used by these companies have no influence on them.

In conclusion, both the real need and advertisement have impacts on the utilization of different products. However, it affects the purchasing habits of children and population living in metropolis, whereas, it has mild effects on villages.