Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern age, advertisement has reached to a different new level and people use it for different purposes. Especially the market companies use it to increase the sales of their products and it is the main reason in the increment of sales of goods rather than the actual needs of the people. I completely agree with this statement and there are various reasons, some of which will be discussed in this essay.

One of the main reason is that advertisement introduces new products available in the market, helping normal to know about them. Moreover, they advertise by mentioning all the new features, their prices and benefits, making people familiar with the products and luring them to buy it. For instance, advertisements of smartphones mentioning their unique appearance and advanced characteristics within minimum range of price attracts people attention easily, tempting them to purchase it even if they already own a smartphone. In short, advertisement makes people crave for their products although they are not in need of them.

The other main reason is that, product companies offer various discounts, gifts and other stuffs free in the purchase of their goods, and advertise them through various means making sure that it reaches to every one of them in the society. Those advertisements reach people's ear quickly, grabbing their attention making them purchase the products for the gifts they can get . For illustration , we can see advertisement like, buy a rice cooker and get a chance to win a bike which make people more interested in buying the product for the bike rather then the real product, which is no use for them. So, advertisements are the backbone for the sales of a product.

This essay discussed why advertisement has great influence in the increment of the number of sales of a product and it is the main reason why people buy products even though if they are not in need of them. In my opinion, advertisements may be beneficial for market companies but not for the customers.