Today large shopping center and supermarkets are more common than small local shops. Is this a negative or positive development?

In recent years, customers are more interested in modern shopping malls and supermarkets than local stores. While this trend has some benefits, it brings a negative impact on individual business that requires serious consideration.

To begin with, the growing of shopping centers and supermarkets offers a merits. Since these places are usually complexes which gather retailers and sellers in one area, it is more convenient for the customers to browse items without having to travel from store to store in far distance. For example, unlike convention stores where people travel from one town to another to buy different types of products, shoppers can simply switch to a television shop from a food and grocery kiosk nearby in the malls. Moreover, these state-of-the-art markets give companies great opportunities to easily advertise and promote themselves to the massive crowd at one time. Thus, it drastically facilitates the manufacturers’ sales.

However, there is a major problem when large malls and modern markets keep attracting the citizens’ attention. Many individual businesses could be closed due to the lack of customers and decrease of sales. Since the small shops cannot compete effectively, they will not gain enough profit to pay all the expense and keep their store running. Consequently, after these vendors decide to stop opening, there will be a huge number of jobless employees that governments and the society need to deal with. In Vietnam, there were reportedly 30 percent of local stores shut down in 2012 and over 3 million workers ceased to have an occupation at the time.

In conclusion, while delivering new shopping centers and supermarkets seems to have several benefits, this tendency is creating hardship to smaller stores and an enormous issue to the society.