It is better to have one true friend than all the acquaintances in the world. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a commonly held belief that having only one true friend is far more beneficial than knowing everyone in the world. In my opinion, I completely agree with this notion.

Firstly, I would say that a true friend is much more supportive than any other acquaintances. While other people come and go in life, the friend who truly understands his buddy will always be ready to support regardless of any circumstances. Whether he is able to help or not, this person will assist his mate willingly and deliberately whereas other acquaintances tend to be out of reach when needed. For example, despite a large number of people I know, there is only one friend who always gives me support whenever I request. This is why people can only count on his best friend besides his family.

Secondly, the highest level of trust can only be found in a close friend. In this material life, acquaintances which include social friends and colleagues are existed to take advantage of others. These people will remain ‘so-called’ friends as long as the central person maintains his wealthy status, which means that such acquaintances will probably no longer be friends in bad times. In contrast, a real friend does not stay for money as this important individual merely comes for a true friendship. Take my oldest buddy for instance, since the first day I met him 15 years ago, he has never demanded my fundings even though he had some serious monetary issues, still, we have an unbreakable friendship. Therefore, this person completely gains my trust indefinitely.

In conclusion, I assert that having a close friend who is fully reliable is undoubtedly better than socializing with thousands of strangers.