Today, the majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working. To what extent do you think it affects the whole family?

After several decades of feminism, the women’s rights are gradually equal to men’s rights. This causes to the increase of career-oriental lifestyle of women instead of staying at home as a traditional housewife in the past. Therefore, children have to live with grandparents as fathers and mothers have no time to look after them. Personally, this is not a positive phenomenon. In this essay, information and evidence are given to clarify my point of views.

Firstly, it is clear that grandparents are trustworthy caretakers for their grandchildren. However, spending maximum time with grandparents may heavily affect to the relationship between children and their parents. Apparently, children have a tendency to close with people who foster them. Due to the fact that lacking of sharing time together with fathers and mothers, children might find it difficult to develop the bond of love with parents. For example, it is commonly observed that children in Vietnam are mostly raised by grandparents. Fathers and mothers can only spend a little time with their children after a long exhausted working day. As a result, children often just listen to grandparents as parents are not closely involved with their upbringing.

Secondly, it is generally seen that grandparents are over indulge the kids leading to possibility of spoiling children eventually when grandparents tend to satisfy all the requests of children. This reaction teaches the kids that they can have everything they want. Obviously, this is unrealistic expectation not from their family but also from other people that they can meet outside. Moreover, old people deserve to live peacefully and enjoy the life without worrying about children. Grandparent spent most of youth and effort to bring their own children up, it is injustice for them to find out relaxing time are replaced by childcare again. The stress occurs while fostering a baby might cause the dissension between the members of family. For example, disagreements with parents on things like discipline, screen time or food etc for kids may lead to the tension atmosphere and have a negative effect on children.

To conclude, all parents are responsible for raising up their children as their roles are important and irreplaceable. Grandparents may play the support role to bring up children if they are willing and have enough condition.