Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that in today's society, food is imported by many countries from various parts of the world. In my opinion, despite a number of inconveniences, this trend should be considered as a very welcome development.

On one hand, critics of importing food from many places in the world tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, perishable food will be transported by planes which can cause serious issues to the environment, particularly global warming. Since it is transported by planes, the CO2 and other gasses released from them is estimated larger than travelling by cars, trains, etc. Another compelling reason is that local farmers will lose their jobs because they cannot compete with the large international market and may stop producing food altogether. This would mean that we would have to import even more food, creating a loop of people running out of business and more food being imported.

On the other hand, in spite of the downsides given above, I believe that this tendency should be considered as progress. The primary reason is that imported food is not only affordable as it is generally mass-produced but also with better quality. Furthermore, supermarkets can choose a wider range of food at reasonable prices, meaning that we get a wider range of food for a cheaper price.

In conclusion, I believe that although the earth may be suffering from the increasing levels of CO2 and other dangerous gasses, countries imported food from many places of the world is a worthwhile development because it can solve the food problem in some nations order to allow them to focus more on other big issues.