Today’s food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers.

Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, importing food is very important for all people and countries. This essay will discuss why it is necessary and is it positive or negative issue.

Firstly, the reasons of food trade is the lack of food in some regions, for example, banana grows in Somalia and it is not available in some countries such as Saudi Arabia, so people there need it despite of transfer it through the sea. In addition, importing food is a very important and useful for poor people around the world especially when some people decide to make donation for unfortunate people. As a result, it will help to outweigh the hunger in poor countries.

Secondly, food trade is useful as people can visit another parts of the world and they will deal with different culture and traditions and learn new languages. To illustrate, my uncle has a farm in Syria and every season he travel to Turkey to export olive oil, so now he can speak Turkish language fluently and learned a lot about the Turkish culture and foods. Therefore, I believe it is a wonderful experience to travel to different places through the trading journey.

However, food transportation has many benefits there are some drawbacks. To begin with, high cost of transferring food to far countries, storage the food for long period of time, and encourage people to consume foreign food more than local food. All of these factors will affect the economy of the country since people will demand more on the imported food and local farmers will pay the expense.

To conclude, I strongly argue that importing food is necessary and important for all people around the world. I think it is serious that all governments and individuals must innovate a new ways to transfer food to poor countries, but also they should not forget the importance of local food.