In today’s job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is common that applicants need to offer their qualifications to the company to get a job, but practical skills seem more important than theoretical in job competition. There are some speculations that formal qualifications will not required in the future job application as practical skills is more significant. However, I tend to disagree with this statement.

Admittedly, now a growing number of companies are more interested in practical skills than theoretical knowledge when they are hiring new employees, and the qualifications are no longer the primary consideration. As a teacher, whose job is to teaching the knowledge to students, he have to clarify things well for students and make them understand, which means practical teaching skills is more essential and this makes him a good teacher even though he don’t have a teacher certification. This indicates that practical skills is vital and it does not matter whether you have a qualification or not.

On the other hand are my two contentions. My first disagreement with the statement is that qualification is a proof which proves that you have enough ability. This means that we still need qualification to apply a job in the future. A good illustration of this is that foreign students need to take IELTS test and get a score report to apply to British universities although some student is really good at English. They need to get a certification to prove that they are indeed good at using English which is necessary. It can be seen from the example that, in spite of excellent practical skills ,a formal qualification is still needed for applicants.

The second reason why I disagree with the statement is that qualification is basic standard to test an applicant. A case in point is that there are many ways to test an applicant for company and the easiest way to select a good employee is to make decision according to their qualifications. Although the practical skills is also very important but it is hard to be seen in a short time. This example show that qualification is indispensable.

In conclusion, today there is a trend that more companies not only focus on the qualifications, but also take practical ability into consideration. I restate my opinion that a formal qualification still required for people who want to apply for a job in the future.