Today’s teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion

Today’s world has many detrimental impacts on the way young adults live their lives. This essay will discuss why teenagers these days are under more stress than their preceding generations, and give a concluding opinion.

Probably one major cause of this issue is the wide use of social media websites, such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. While surfing these websites most of their time, adolescents often come to social posts by friends and strangers about their lives. These posts can have negative effects on teenagers’ minds since they potentially show the ideal version of how those people live. While the youngsters, in many cases, cannot interpret this particular information, they may think that the life is always straightforward, and thus being stressed of not living that ideal version of life.

Another factor can contribute to teenagers’ stressful lives is the competition with their contemporaries. The academic life where students are driven by the desire to achieve high grades in order to enter their dream colleges is an instance of these competitions. In addition, youngsters may even think of the highly competitive job market and how they should be prepared, from younger ages, to meet those expected jobs requirements. Such thoughts, although they seem to be motivating, can increase the levels of stress amongst young persons.

In conclusion, I agree with the opinion that today’s life can put young adults in more stressful situations compared to past times. Taking the considerable time spent on social media and the competitive lifestyle into consideration, adolescents will suffer from stress in various aspects of their lives.