University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of undergraduates heading overseas to study has increased throughout past years. This essay will discuss how students benefit from studying abroad and what drawbacks they or their governments might face.

On the one hand, several advantages of studying abroad appears to be existed. One benefit undergraduates may gain is that they are being learnt through different approaches from those in home country. While students interact with such approaches, they can develop a wide range of skills, besides the new acquired knowledge. Another positive impact is the connections an individual can create with other colleagues, which can lead, in many cases, to a collaborative, worthy result. As an example, a group of international students in Harvard Medical School, through their joint work on a research, have developed a way for a giving insulin to a diabetic patient only once a day instead of repeated injections.

On the other hand, disadvantages of travelling abroad for studying are unavoidable for both governments and students. The high cost of study is one of these drawbacks. Although students should afford these budgets, more often than not, it is governments that pay them, which can lead to reduced funding to other critical issues existing in states. Regarding effects on individuals, it might be difficult for some to cope with that foreign country’s traditions. Being unable to adapt to these new circumstances and interact with the society, a student may feel isolated or even depressed, which affects the primary goal of travelling.

In conclusion, learning by different techniques and developing bonds with other students are valuable impacts of studying abroad. However, it seems that the disadvantages of high funding and social difficulties of living abroad outweigh the advantages.