University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Many university students routinely study in other institutions around the world's part of their degrees. Although students often struggle with cultural and linguistic challenges while abroad, they also gain significant life experiences that will reward them in their careers. In my opinion, students are far better off having studied in a different country despite the challenges that they will inevitably face.

The greatest benefit of studying abroad is that students will have life experiences that will improve themselves as people that have seen otherwise impossible if they have studied in their own countries. Being in another country requires to push themselves beyond the norm into unusually difficult experiences. For example, when I studied in Indonesia as a twenty-year-old, I was continually pushed out of my comfort zone into psychological states that were unique and novel and that I had to adapt to no matter what. These ultra-challenging experiences are paradoxically the main advantage of studying overseas because they make you grow as a person.

The main challenges that students will face while overseas will usually stem from cultural and linguistic differences. These differences can pose massive obstacles for people because they require one to move beyond the familiar into the unknown which can often be awkward and quite scary. For instance, while studying in Indonesia I had to frequently make a fool myself in order to communicate with the local people in their language. Oftentimes, I felt embarrassed and I longed to speak English and be in the familiarity of my own culture.

In conclusion, studying overseas has become incredibly common.while students will no doubt experience social and language barriers, it is, in fact, these barriers that lead to the main advantage if studying abroad which is personal growth. As a contradiction if sorts, it is the hardship that ultimately makes the experience of studying abroad more advantageous than disadvantageous.