University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past years, the number of undergraduates heading overseas in order to study has increased. This essay will discuss how students benefit from studying abroad and what drawbacks they might face.

On the one hand, a number of advantages of studying abroad appear to be existed. One benefit undergraduates may gain is that they are being learnt through different approaches from those in home country. While a student faces such approaches, he or she can develop a wide range of skills, besides to the new acquired knowledge. Another positive impact is the connections a student can create with other colleagues, which can lead, in some cases, to a collaborative work in definite areas. As an example, a group of international students in Oxoford University, through their cooperation in a medical research, have developed a way for a diabetic patient to get medications only once a day instead of repeated injections.

On the other hand, disadvantages of travelling abroad for studying are unavoidable for both governments and students. The high cost of studying is one of these drawbacks. Although in some cases such costs are on the individuals, the majority of them are on governments, which can lead to reduced funding to other critical problems existed in states. For undergraduates, it might seem difficult for some to cope with that foreign country’s traditions. Being unable to adapt to these new circumstances, a student may feel isolation and depression, which affects the primary goal of travelling.

To conclude, learning by different techniques and developing bonds with other studens are considered to be valuable impacts of studying abroad. However, it appears that the disadvantages of high funding and social difficulties of living abroad outweigh the advantages.