In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is true that artists such as musicians, painters and writers have still gained a great deal of respect from their audiences and readers in spite of the dominance of advanced science and technology. Personally, I think the role of art is irreplaceable because it conveys many meaningful messages about life such as the mental development and literary appreciation which science and technology fail to.

First, art would significantly contribute to the mental development of individuals. In fact, literary works could help their admirers to realize what they need to do for their lives after reading every page thoroughly. In particular, when they face difficulty in both their professional life and private life, art would enable them to hide themselves from the harsh reality and find their inner peace. To illustrate, “Hạt giống tâm hồn” is one of the most impressive self-help books readers, especially teenagers, could choose to get themselves in during their life crisis. This book provides them with valuable life lessons and eye-opening experiences which they could find with science and technology. This helps them to overcome challenges in life and somehow shape their personality traits in a more holistic manner.

Second, art could improve a great appreciation for the culture and history which artists try to express in their works. As a matter of fact, the culture and history are two of the main sources of creation materials and become a big part in the arts industry. This not only strengthens understanding about different cultures and history in many parts of the world but also promotes a sense of identity. Take Vietnam as a concrete example, many Vietnamese literary works such as fairy tales or poems and folk songs pass from generation to generation through bedtime storytelling of grandparents or parents. This practically preserves our cultures and history and allows young people to understand traditional values. By contrast, innovation and modern breakthroughs are the main focus of science and technology, which guides humans to live for the present and future only.

To conclude, in my view, art is of great significance in the sense of mentality and identity which science and technology cannot.