In today's world, it's private companies rather than government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in the present-day world, the majority of scientific research is undertaken and funded by private companies instead of central governments. Although this dominant trend is disadvantageous in some aspects, I believe these are outweighed by the advantages.

This trend, in my opinion, probably leads to the misuse of scientific research to cause social chaos and dangers, as some terrorist or criminal organizations are likely to tempt profit-driven biotech companies to sell them their products by offering huge amounts of money. Many experts, in fact, have foreseen and been warning of biological terrorism. Furthermore, some major corporations, having conducted research on their products, choose to cover the deadly side effects. For example, the fact that smoking can kill had long been hidden from the buyers until scientists discovered the truth.

I, however, believe that private organizations are superior in making scientific progress. As a matter of fact, countless inventions that set the standards of life, such as car, light bulb, computer and many types of medicine, were created with profitability in mind. Moreover, without having to deal with unnecessary bureaucracy, private organizations are certainly more agile and efficient in the use of capital, in contrast to their government counterparts, who often suffer from a cumbersome bureaucratic system.

In conclusion, research activity is a worthwhile investment which may offer great social and economic benefits. Governments should attempt to reduce administrative tasks and only step in to regulate if any problems arise.