TOPIC 2 Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words

Advertising, as we know it, is a creative process designed to make a customer aware of a newly launched product and tell him how influential will it be in his life, so he must indulge himself in buying the article. But there has been a constant debate regarding the very nature of advertising where the proponents claim that advertising is extremely successful while the opponents debunk this aura by decrying the fact that it does not get the attention because it is so common.

To support the arguments of the proponents firstly, it is vital for a product to be advertised as ads are the sole mechanism that helps the products to reach the customers' mind. Not a single product if not advertised can be sold in today's time. For example, if a company makes a soap with a number of attractive attributes such as a fragrance, durability, efficiency to kill germs will still end up in the back shelves of a supermarket and will not be palatable to the customer's needs, just because of fewer advertisements. Secondly, often advertisements display the product's price prominently. The deliberate show of the price of the product often works in form of raising he sales of a specific product as it informs the customer if it is offering a discount. If the product is of higher quality but sold at a discount, people are more inclined to buy due to some particular decision heuristics. Conversely, a daily use item if offered at a lower price will fetch more buyers and up the sales curve. For example, if a Swiss Rado watch is offered at a discount, more watch-lovers will throng the market and thus up the monetary profits.

To throw a counter argument, it can be opined that in this where era advertisements are literally in every nook and corner of the city, it has become exhaustive for the prospective buyers who feel bombarded with the same stuff all the time. It is analogous to Sisyphus' punishment. They began to lose interest in the items and this resentment can actually make a company face a potential loss. For example, in early 1990s a milk company shut down all its operations in India after facing the public anger, who were irked at the sight of only cow and milk on their city's billboards.

So, advertising is the need of the hour and I absolutely support the argument. In my opinion good advertisers are always in demand to create a storm in the market to up the revenue generation.

In conclusion, I want to voice my opinion on the idea that ads are a necessity to sell an item on the contrary it must be done judiciously and intelligently to just keep the money flow intact but at the same time nurture and not anger the population the companies seek to serve.