Topic 5 : Governments around the world are investing heavily in space exploration. Some people say this money should be spent on helping people living in poverty, or with significant health problems. To what extend do you agree ?

There is a widely held belief that governments around the world should concentrate on spending money to explore outer space, while others hold a view that investing in assisting people in needy areas or dealing with health issues is more important. From my perspective, I agree that governments need to support social problems more than research.

On the one hand, there are some advantages of spending on space exploration in different aspects of the economy. To begin with, discovering outer space is a necessary way to raise human awareness in terms of planets. For instance, thanks to the enhancement of astronomy, people can understand life on other planets and create some major projects such as satellites or weather forecasts. Besides that, exploring space seems to be the need for the future because of climate change. It is clear that if global warming becomes a serious problem, humans have to move to another planet to start a new life.

On the other hand, social issues are the best concern for governments currently instead of long-term plans. First of all, a range of underprivileged people in this society needs to be pay attention to. To exemplify, the sick, the disabled, and the unemployed living in poverty without a source of income so that financial supports are essential to ensure their lives. Moreover, health problems also an aspect that needs to be ameliorated as soon as possible. The COVID-19 pandemic is an example, investing in vaccines and medical treatments is fundamental to protect citizens from death.

To sum up, spending budget on discovering or supporting social missions brings many benefits. These are people's awareness and maintaining basic life but I believe that governments should tackle with current difficulty on society to create balanced communities