Topic: Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that these days, fossil fuels are a major source of energy in a large proportion of nations in the world. Some countries, however, have started to replace them by renewable energy which is a good action for their nations' development.

Firstly, alternative energy usage is considered as an useful measure to help us gradually reduce our dependence on natural fuel, which already causes unintended consequences for human health and the environment. It is no denying that fossil fuel is one of the core reasons leading to a wide range of environmental problems. Unless we consume less of the Earth's natural resources, it is impossible to fight climate change and safeguard our future. For examples, according to researchers, not only constructing wind farms and solar energy sites in Africa slows down the warming process of the Earth but also has a certain positive impact on those dry places.

Secondly, as fossil fuel is non-renewable, these energy sources can not guarantee the survival of human beings in a long term. With the current extreme exploitation, the valuable natural resources would be used up, leaving us no other choices than seeking for additional energy source such as hydroelectricity. This is a safe solution to the loss of fossil fuel and ensures the future development of the human race.

In conclusion, it seems to me that there a many benefits for government to introduce the use of alternative energy instead of natural ones which lead to problems about the environment, thereby threatening our lives.