Topic: What are the influences of the Internet on youth development?

Throughout the course of human history, it would be a huge mistake not to mention the Internet in the lists of groundbreaking inventions that human beings have ever devised in this day and age. Admittedly, the Internet has opened up a new chapter for mankind in general, and most importantly, has a range of impacts on youth development in particular, namely on their connection, insight, and opportunities.

To begin with, the emergent of the Internet has formed a bond among young people. To be more precise, by means of the Internet, every youngster would be able to connect, make friends, or even socialize with others all over the nation and the globe. It is such a miracle that the young could keep in touch with their friends even though they are at a very far distance from each other. What is more, once the young have a chance to socialize with one another, they could also gain more experiences, insight, and interesting stories from their peers, which they could have not accomplished without the Internet. By socializing with international communities, youngsters will be able to not only enhance their usage of English but also learn to speak other languages as well, which is a precondition of the process of integration into the rest of the globe.

In the second place, with the help of the Internet, each youngster could acquire more and more insight into every aspect of life than ever before. As mentioned, with the Internet, young people could contact and make friends with foreign peers, which means that they could inquire more about international peers’ strategies to study or work productively, or simply have a better understanding of their perspectives about life. Moreover, it is expected that they could also gain more knowledge about different cultures and be conscious of respecting those. To illustrate this, in recent years, there is a sort of lifestyle in Sweden that impressed many young people to decide to chase and design their life in that way. It is “Lagom” which means “enough”. Additionally, a majority of the elderly acknowledge that the young these days are much more conversant with modern technologies than other ages. I suppose that this also has much to do with the influences of the Internet.

Ultimately, the Internet network has created dozens of work and study opportunities for the young. With the help of social media, it is getting more and more effortless for everyone, specifically the young, to seek an appropriate job ranging from freelance to paperwork. Personally, I believe this, without a doubt, could decrease the unemployment rate and help the unemployed survive in today’s society. What is more, the internet provides us not only job opportunities but also study opportunities. By surfing social networking sites, it is easier than ever before for the young, especially students, to study their major via social platforms such as YouTube. In addition, it would also give the students a chance to become exchange students, who can freely study in another nation and have a better understanding of that culture as well, which would never happen in the old days.

By and large, I pen down saying that the Internet is one of the most astonishing watershed moments that human beings have ever been through, which has three beneficial effects on youth development: their connection, insight, and opportunities. Consequently, I suppose that the young must utilize the positive side of the Internet to be a better version of themselves, which is good for not only the young themselves but also the whole society in today’s world.