Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, an increasing number of people are concerned about the increase in tourism over the last 50 years, which is thought by some people to be a negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment, however, others consider that it can be good for the economy. There are some obvious merits of this phenomenon but there are also some stumbling blocks to be taken into account.

On the one hand, there are a number of advantages to tourism. One evident strength is job opportunities for people. This means that it is the appearance of new jobs that helps people earn more money to spend on their daily demands such as food or clothes. Other industries, therefore, will be accelerated to develop consequently. Another positive feature is the improvement in infrastructure. For instance, run-down road systems and public transports, by being upgraded regularly by local goverment, will attract more foreign visitors. In addition, tourism, with a great number of tourists, definitely boosts the national gross income. In other words, the profit from tourists support other industries and even generate more businesses such as accomodations for tourism.

On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. One weakness is pollution. Simply put, the overcrowded visitors carelessly leave garbage which may cause the environmental issue desperately. Take some historical sites in the world as an illustration, they are deliberately damaged by tourists due to the fact that some visitors throw litter around the sites or draw graffiti on the wall. Another reason is the disappearance of culture. Alternatively stated, indigenous people will adapt with new cultures rather than keep their own customs because of the mass tourism. Moreover, the increase in tourism may lead to the destruction of natural habitats. In particular, excessive buildings for tourism industry may result in the extinction of a great number of animals and plants.

In conclusion, there are plus points to tourism. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of pollution, the disappearance of culture and the destruction of natural habitats.