The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

families, throughout the world spend less time on having meals together, affecting the precious relationship among family members. The reasons behind are not only caused by the harsh demand from working environments in society, and also the rapid development of technology.

The fundamental reason is that jobs occupy employees most of the time, as having a full time job is enormously demanding in our community. although working hours is set in the employment contracts, staffs are forced to work overtime in days off. For instance, in Hong Kong, 90 percent of labour cannot off duty on time, it results in lacking of rest time. Subsequently, they prefer taking rest when having free time, in order to fullfill the requirments form their works. Otherwise, they may lost their job, as not having sufficient productivity in their works. Moreover, since modern technology helps people to connect with others conveniently, they would rather choose to interact with family members instead of face to face gathering when after work.

it is clear that the detrimental drawback is broken family relationship. As Assigned time is the key for maintaining health family relationship, people are encouraged to spend more time in their family. There is an intensive research by Oxford University, it indicates that if people do not have sufficient time in family life, relationship among them would be more distancing. although social workers can help them to rebulid the relationship, it cannot be recovered.

To recapitulate, working demand is one of the reason why the meals time gets lesser than before.