Traffic and housing problems in major cities could be solved by moving companies, factories and their employees to the countryside. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the relocation of major corporations from urban to rural areas is an effective method to tackle the problems of traffic congestion and housing shortage. While this policy is good in some ways, I believe there are other initiatives which should be implemented to solve

the above-mentioned concerns.

To begin with, it is a good idea to move businesses and their employees to the countryside to ease traffic congestion and housing scarcity. Firstly, if people are encouraged to relocate to suburban regions, the population density in major cities could be greatly alleviated. As a result, the number of privately owned vehicles can be significantly reduced, helping to calm congested conditions. Furthermore, when fewer people live in big cities, there will be more spaces to build new residential areas with recreation complexes, and thus life quality in large cities can be enhanced and the pressure on housing supply can be relieved.

However, I would argue more effective strategies should be concurrently employed to resolve urban traffic and housing problems. The first one is to develop well-designed road infrastructure to make it more convenient for commuters. For example, bigger roads or highways should be built to keep up with the increasing volume of private and public transport on the street. Consequently, traffic congestion can be lessened. Another solution is that the government should encourage investors to run numerous residential projects in urban centers such as high-rise apartments or massive skyscrapers to accommodate the annual population increase, and therefore housing shortages will no longer be a problem in the long run.

In conclusion, apart from relocating businesses to the countryside, I agree there are other feasible approaches to deal with traffic and housing-related issues.