Trees are essential for the existence of the human race as they provide the oxygen that we need to survice. Yet, daily all around the globe large areas of woodland are being detroyed. Many people feel that they as individuals can do nothing and that only governments and large companies can halt the destruction. How far do you agree or disagree with this.

The process of deforestation has become an alarming issue in our society. Although trees play a vital role in the existence of human beings, more and more forests and areas of woodland are being devastated. Some people think that this trouble is too big for individuals to resolve, while I believe that solving this problem also requires the participation of individuals.

There are several reasons why only the government and big companies can deal with this problem. Initially, only the government has the power to do this. For example, the government can make laws to limit the exploitation of forests as well as punish strictly people who destroy areas of woodland for their own ends. Secondly, the cost of some environmental projects are prohibitive for individuals so they can afford to deal with these problems. For instance, in Vietnam afforestation cost billions of VND, so this is too expensive for individuals and only large companies or government can manage perfectly.

However, this problem can be only tackle with the participation of people in many cases. For example individuals, groups like schools can sponsor the planting of new trees. When a lot of people come together in this way, it can be very effective. Trees could be planted in schools and children could be taught to look after and care for them. By appreciating the value of trees, young people will respect them more and therefore, not want to destroy them. Moreover, people can use other materials to replace wood in some fields such as construction. It means that the exploitation of wood can be limited. This is also positive effect as well as makes the process of producing goods developed.

To sum up, trees play a vital role in enhancing our quality of life also for our existence. Dealing with the destruction of woodland needs cooperation between government, big companies and the citizens. One of the best ways is the government should issue policies to encourage the engagement of people. This will help to lessen the pressure on the government and raise public awareness of preserving woodland and forests.