Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information aboutthe defendant’s criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed an

British and Australian governments have offered a special situation for a criminal person by which a jury cannot judge by his or her past criminal record. While there are some people who claim that this opportunity should be banned, personally I believe that it is completely fair to judge a person based on the current circumstances. This essay will discuss why this policy should be kept.

There are various reasons why a jury must decide about a certain case regardless of the defendant’s previous criminal record. First, there is no room for doubt that each case is totally different from other cases. For example, financial crimes and murder are completely mutually exclusive. Hence, a criminal person should be judged only based on the current situation. Second, as we have already known, prisons have been built for reforming delinquents. If a person went to a jail for his previous crimes, he would not be judged according to his past criminal record because maybe he was reformed. Third, a jury consists of about 12 people in order to reach the best decision in many cases. It is intuitively obvious that if we wanted to decide about a case based on the previous record, is it necessary to establish juries? It is clear that this is the responsibility of a jury to decide fairly.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned reasons why this decision should be taken in the current moment, making a decision based on the previous record adversely affect people who are being accused in the court. These effects hesitate people to be reformed, even if they go to jails. As an illustration, imagine a man, who was arrested previously because of a dangerous crime and he is already reformed, do something wrong again that it is not an important case and he has to go to court in order to be judged by juries. If a jury decides negatively about his activity based on his previous action, he would never be a good man after leaving a jail. Furthermore, having access to all information, juries can easily make mistakes unintentionally regardless of paying attention to the current situation.

It can be concluded that juries should judge a criminal person by using the current information about the case. Releasing the further information about the past must not be allowed at all.