Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development overweight the disadvantages?

Nowadays, with the support of numerous technological advancements, educational institutions such as universities and colleges are able to provide their students with online courses which can be attended from a distance. This fires up the dispute over the positive and negative impacts of a qualification obtained online. While I accept that distance learning can be beneficial in some ways, it usually exerts detrimental effects on learners.

On the one hand, distance learning is strongly advocated for several reasons. One of the major advantages is that it produces the ready access to the world of knowledge for people of all classes and ages. Thanks to various online courses, there is an increasing number of mature students who are allowed to pursue tertiary education, resulting in better employment possibilities in their future. In addition, without additional expenses on educational facilities such as classroom or teaching equipment, universities and colleges could provide their courses of studies at a significantly lower price than previously. This could lead to more educational opportunities for the general population, which leads to the development in economic and social aspects of the society.

On the other hand, the pursuit of online education is unattractive to some for a number of reasons. Firstly, there is a lack of direct interaction in distance learning. It is unquestionable that the immediate guidance and support from a teacher would improve students’ academic achievements. However, by conducting their lectures through the internet, teachers could face enormous challenges in monitoring students’ performance, as well as maintaining a sense of connection with their learners. Secondly, without the educational settings of classrooms and blackboards, students are deprived from the engagement in various classroom activities. Traditional classrooms equip students with suitable environment for the learning process as well as the support from other classmates which can enhance students’ potential for progression. However, a university student who enrolls in online courses is unlikely to access the aforementioned resources.

In a word, it seems to me that the disadvantages of qualifications through distance learning far outweigh its advantages.