Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that each domain in universities should have the same amount of male and female in class. Personally I disagree with this perspective and I will elaborate my arguments below.

To begin with, it is impractical to limit the number of female and male students. Universities may not be able to recruit enough students since some subjects are less attractive to one of the genders. For example, nursing usually receives fewer applicants from male candidates than women. Therefore, in order to recruit sufficient students, schools have to lower the admission requirement. Consequently, professors may find it difficult to teach due to a large amount of unqualified students in classes. Thus, the academic level will be reduced and the reputation of university may be ruined.

In addition, it is unfair to allocate applications by gender. Both men and women should have equal access to higher educational opportunities. For instance, it makes no sense to reject an applicant from an excellent female student just because the positions for women in this course are full and have to fill the rest places with men. Furthermore, Students should be encouraged to enter the domain which they have passion on based on their motivations and abilities than their sexes. It is natural that different sex has different preferences on school subjects, it is leading by sex differences and we should not go against it.

In conclusion, universities should not have the restriction of equal quantity for both genders because it has negative effects on both schools and students.