University should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To support gender equality, the higher education institution supposed to have a similar number of male and female students in all subjects. this essay disagrees with the statement due to the fact that some of the university subjects are aimed for certain one sex skill.

To have an equal number of men and women in every subject or study program is an illogical act. The logic of this statement is because not all subjects are aimed at both sexes. Midwife subject, for instance, is aimed for a female student since the goal of this study is to educate the students in term of assisting women giving birth. moreover, the presence of male which is not family related in the delivery room is perceived as a taboo by almost society. As a result, the purpose of the study would be meaningful for male students. Moreover, this type of subject is mostly studying female anatomy. If the male student should participate in this type of subject, the learning process would be embarrassing for both male and female students.

Apart from the statement above, I also assume that the student should be given the freedom to choose which subject they intend to attend. If the choice is limited by quota reason it would lead to loose of learning motivation of the students. Consequently, this practice would badly affect a student’s academic performance as well as the aims of the study.

To sum up, I believe that the selection of student participant should be based on subject objective as well as a merit for the students.