The use of the mobile phone is antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phones should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people regard using mobile phones as harmful to society as smoking cigarettes, and, therefore, propose the same ban on it in public locations. Personally, I completely disagree with this view.

On the one hand, mobile phones do not pose the same threats to communities as tobacco does. One of the main justification for the ban on smoking is passive smoking, which means non-smokers could be as likely to have lung cancer as smokers by inhaling toxic fumes released in the atmosphere. However, the universal and most serious problem with using a phone in public is the annoyance of loud conversations on the phone, which can be disturbing and frustrating yet by no means as hazardous as lung deterioration itself. Therefore, it is oversensitive to put mobile phones and tobacco on the same level of risk to society.

On the other hand, it is absurd to impose such a ban. Mobile phones have become indispensable accessories that accompany people everywhere they go. They serve to entertain, educate and make people’s lives easier. As a result, being deprived of such a useful tool, people would feel a sense of frustration and resentment. Moreover, they are not only useful items, but they are also sometimes live-savers. For example, it comes in handy when people want to call paramedics in case of an accident or police officials in case of a murder crime. Therefore, there is no justification for such a prohibition.

In conclusion, it seems to me that mobile phones are harmless belongings, and people should be free to use them publicly.