The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, with the advance in technologies, people in the world make an easy to contact each other by means of using their phones and it is replacing traditional communication. In my view, I believe that the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why this trend brings negative aspects to the citizens. In the first place, if people tend to be over-dependent on social media to keep in touch with their family or friends on a daily basis, which causes residents to gradually lose their confidence and they would have to cope with many bad consequences. To take my friend as a demonstration, he is likely to use his phone to communicate with others, which leads him not to be courageous enough to state when he has a present. Another downside of this trend could be that citizens would deal with health problems such as myopic. As a consequence, they have to spend a huge amount of money to cure it.

On the other hand, I believe that using social media gives people lots of conveniences. To begin with, during the spread of covid 19, social distancing was in place, thanks to the technology devices such as smartphones or computers, many people in the world make use of their intelligence devices to interact with their friends and family. Another merit of communicating with others without face-to-face interaction could be that social media is a powerful tool in education, for those who do not condition or can not attend face to face will be easier replaced with distancing learning where they are carried out over the internet. To take the covid 19 as an illustration, students can no go to school and they are forced to study at home in order to avoid infecting covid. Therefore, it plays an indispensable part in society.

In conclusion, although it has several drawbacks, the use of social media is becoming popular and it plays a vital role in human lives. It makes the life of the citizens easier and more convenient.