The use of violence in music lyrics, video games and films seen by children is causing concern in many societies. What problems this type of violent imagery may cause, and what steps could be taken to lessen the impact on young people.

Most people nowadays pay more attention to children watching audio-visual media, such as music lyrics, video games and films, which contains violence. This essay will identify potential problems and explore the way to diminish the impacts on youth.

Regarding the impacts, one possible is that children would display the acts of physical aggression. In video games and films, brutality and negative physical action can give influences over viewers especially young people to unwisely attempt the practice of martial arts exposed in these media to others surrounding. Secondly, the media would affect children to commit physical violence as an appropriate way to deal with problems. For instance, when watching action or gangster films, the fictional heroes might perform physical violent acts to fight against their enemies. As a result, viewer will assume that this action is reasonably acceptable to take as the way to defeat a bad guy.

Turning to the solutions, one of the effective ways is to provide parental supervision, meaning that parents should limit the time for children watching films. To illustrate, if youth spent less time on seeing films, they would get minimum media exposure. Moreover, another possible step is to offer technical guidance on playing video games. This can be seen on a set of practical guidelines suggesting children to ignore the games containing physical violence. Finally, to reduce the impact could be achieved by encouraging children to develop awareness of violence and understand its consequences. This will make them possess critical-thinking skills in being wise when listening to the music with lyric containing animosity.

To conclude, it is clear that violent imagery creates serious problems of both children’s behavior and emotion. Yet, there would be some ideal solutions to deal with this, in which parental supervision and guidance should be provided as the essential steps.