Violence in playgrounds is increasing. However, it is important that parents should teach children not to hit back at bullies.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for you answer and include any relevant examples from you own knowledge or experience.

Regardless of whether or not parents should teach their children to response to bullying is an increasingly debating viewpoint. There are valid opinions on both sides which I will examine carefully before my owner opinion given.

On the one hand, teaching children not to react the harassment violently would consist of positively effect in the long run. In fact, children who are brought up in a violent way often become violent themselves. Moreover, some of them maybe have a tendency to be aggressive and develop into bullies. In contrast, families should inspire their children to look for other ways of resolving disagreements and knowing how to deal with their conflicts through open discussions rather than by force. As a result, this orientation will create a non-violence behavior when they grow up and help them to maintain their relationships in the good way with others.

In some cases, the counteroffensive from children in response to violence and harassment might bring some advantages. when hitting back at bullies, they can threaten bullies not to attack them again, which might reduce serious physical injuries during the fight. Definitely, by making bullies be cautious of whom have threatened them and looking for the assistance from elderly people in surrounding areas, children are likely to have more chance to end the fight quickly and keep them safe. Thus, victims will have an opportunity to not be bullied anymore.

Although there are still arguments on whether children should be instructed to response to bullying at school. It is my belief that teaching non-violent strategies is more productive and having better permanent effect.