As well as making money businesses also have social responsibilities To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many people claim that a company must concentrate on both making a profit and embracing social responsibilities. Although it is true that what an organization contributes to local communities can be beneficial, I personally believe the decision to improve surrounding conditions depends on the special circumstances of each one.

To begin with, having sense of social duties can be advantageous for not only the enterprise itself but also the local community as a whole. This is because it is the best way to build a company’s brand. By allocating budget, say, to helping disadvantaged residents or solving environmental issues, the company’s image can gain popularities, positively attracting an increasing number of potential customers. Take, for example, Vingroup in Vietnam, which gains strong support form individuals because of its high quality products, coupled with the investment in improving education and medical care, thereby expanding the business and offering more job opportunities for local people. In addition, a business only focusing on maximizing its profit without taking any notice of participating in social activities seems to find hard to maintain in this highly competitive society. Vedan is a good case in point, as we can see, which was instantly ostracized due to discharging a huge amount of industrial waste into the Thi Vai river.

However, I would argue that the performance in community services should be optional because many companies which are small or start entering the workforce have to fully put every effort into how to make money. This allows dealing with an array of financial problems, therefore functioning well and contributing to society by paying taxes. For instance, the total avenue must be at least covers their running costs, such as staff salaries and facility costs, otherwise, it is more predisposed to go bankrupt. Furthermore, those which struggle financially are unlikely to prioritize social responsibilities due to the fact that the main concern is how to overcome such financial difficulties. Only by this way can businesses survive the fierce competition in the business world. Therefore, if a company wants to support the surrounding environment, it is necessary to make sure that it is in good financial health.

In conclusion, while taking the responsibility for social issues can bring great benefits, I would argue the small or unaffordable enterprises should totally focus on making money.