As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern age, it is widely held that corporations should give considerable attention to their social duties, in addition to earning incomes. I strongly agree with this opinion since and the reasons behind it will be elaborated in the upcoming paragraphs.

First and foremost, if companies ignore their social responsibilities, the working class and the environment are likely to suffer. The first worth-mentioning fact perhaps is that numerous workers are being exploited for their labour and working under tough conditions due to the policy of the company. A prime example of this is the factory workers in China and Vietnam, who worked for multi-national companies like Nike or Adidas, are forced to labour more than 12 hours per day and only paid for almost 3 dollars per hour. This creates a detrimental impact on their health and impede them from spending time with their families. Moreover, an immense amout of pollutions and exhaust fumes, which are emerged from the manufactures, are causing severe effects on the natural environment. Thus, if corporates do not comply with the environmental-friendly policy and have responsibilities towards society, the pollution rate will tremendously worsen.

On the other hand, taking social responsibilities will not only help companies to earn profits but also bring about positive impacts in the long run. It is true that the companies which takes role in protecting the environments and the benefits of their employees will result in good reputation in the eyes of the public. This can also be regarded as an effortless method of marketing since companies can attract new customers and retain their existing ones. Furthermore, companies which can prove their contributions to the development of societies can attract more investment and support from the governments. In fact, many national authorities tend to invest their resources in the corporates which have green practices and high rate of staff satisfaction.

In conclusion, it is more favourable for businesses to implement plans which complies with their responsibilities of societies, as well as increase their profits.