What can governments do to encourage children to eat more healthily?

Write at least 250 words to discuss the topic.

In recent years, diet-related health problems among children have been a pressing threat, demanding serious response from governments around the globe. This essay aims to discuss several feasible solutions to address tackle this issue.

The first method revolves around governments imposing restrictions regarding opening hours and physical locations of food stores selling unhealthy food items. For example, bubble milk tea shops should be forbidden from being around schools and only allowed to open during office hours. Obviously, this strategy would effectively restrict pupils’ access to these shops and send a clear message about the detrimental effects affiliating with these sugar-rich drinks to both schoolchildren and their parents. However, in this era when access to the Internet becomes relevant to citizens of all ages, placing an online order or call for delivery can still help both the milk tea shops and their young loyal fans to bypass the rules.

The second solution places more emphasis on how formal education can catalyze a fundamental change in children’s diets for the better. A good example here is that the ministry of education may allow primary schools to include cooking in their official curriculum in their education settings with learning contents being preparing nutritional meals using little to no oil and sugar. This will encourage young learners to internalize the notion of healthy foods and consequentially, relay the positive message to their parents. Unfortunately, this initiative has inherent drawbacks encompassing everything from preserving raw materials to lacking both in specific equipment and professional skills.

The last idea is depicted with the help of viral advertisements. Children tend to idolize prominent faces of the entertainment world and emulate their behavior. For this reason, the combination of household names, infectious catchphrases and visual presentations of meals that are made of greens, fruit and low-fat food items for TV commercials can surely encrypt young citizens with the habit of consuming sufficient nutrients on a daily basis. This seemingly perfect recipe, however, will have to face fierce competition from major packet food brands that also utilize celebrities’ star power to maintain their sales among youngsters.

In conclusion, with each strategy bearing distinctive strengths and weaknesses, the authorities should flexibly apply each of the suggested solutions to help reconfigurate children’s diet options, of which hopefully, healthy ingredients will take center-stage.