What discovery in the last 100 years has been most beneficial for people in your country?

Kazakhstan, situated in the Central Asia, has recently been ranked among the World’s top fifty developed and competitive countries. Initially, this post-Soviet country, which had its independence from the USSR in 1991, had had collapsed industry as well as economy; however, discovery of oil deposits in Western Kazakhstan in early twentieth century has contributed to establish strong, modern and independent Kazakhstan.

After the dissolution of the USSR, economies of most post-Soviet countries stagnated. Kazakhstan’s economy, in contrast, started to prosper due to the fact that such Western countries as the USA, Canada, France and etc. have heavily invested in this newly independent country’s oil industry. This economic support from the West facilitated to develop Kazakhstan’s infrastructure as well as provided significant support for establishing middle- and small-scaled businesses in this Central Asian country. This, which in turn, has substantially increased Kazakhstan citizens’ standard of living giving opportunity to consume products as well as majority Europeans, to drive American and Japanese vehicles and to study at World’s top universities. Moreover, Kazakhstan’s government has become capable of organizing international occasions: OSCE summit in 2010, Asian weightlifting championship in 2013, International EXPO 2017 in 2017 and etc., which has contributed to elevate in many Global rankings.

Focusing Kazakhstan’s economy vastly on oil industry, on the other hand, has recently triggered some negative consequences in its economy since there has been crisis in Global “black gold” market resulting in slump in oil price. There was continuous devaluation in Kazakhstan’s National currency – Tenge - since the country’s incomes have notably decreased. The government, nevertheless, has initiated several state programs to diversify its economy. EXPO 2017 in Astana, the capital, for instance, invited over 100 countries including the USA, Canada, Germany, to illustrate their breakthroughs in renewable energy in order to obtain those new technologies to utilize in Kazakhstan.

There have been many discoveries in Kazakhstan contributed to attain its place in World arena; nevertheless, Kazakhstan’s oil deposits are considered to be that what mostly helped for this Central Asian country to prosper.