To what extent do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

Give reasons for your answer using your own ideas and experience.

Critics throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether some of the advertisement in today's media such as television, radio, posters and the Internet are immoral and unacceptable or not. Despite the considerable value to the associated business sectors, the ensuing drawbacks are now becoming increasingly concerned by the public. This essay will assert the notion that some of them are unethical and unacceptable under today's moral standard.

To begin with, the misleading information in advertisement is intuitively deemed unethical. The central reason behind this stems from the fact that commercials that gain noise from the public often consist of fabricated information. In fact, there has been evidently a surge in lodged complaints in mismatched content between TV commercials and their actual products. Moreover, it should not be forgotten that some producers selectively hide the underlying drawbacks of their products during the production of advertisements. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that certain employment of advertising skills, to a considerable extent, is cheating the public.

Another factor that is worth mentioning is the improper messages embedded in some of these commercials. More specifically, in comparison to the initial idea of marketing, which aims at increasing the public awareness on the functions of its product, a considerable number of commercials hosted online are now containing explicit information. Examples can invariably be found in tobacco and perfume industry. For instance, the majority of their video advertisement comprise a couple of seconds showing girls in sexy dress prior to taking a nice shot of its series. Consistent with this line of thinking is that children who absorbed this message will have their mental growth affected. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that the use of advertising skill should be supervised to protect the juniors.

In conclusion, there is ample evidence suggesting the current employment of advertising methods are immoral and far away from the general acceptance. Given the increasing concern of citizens, it is predicted that the government will enact any measures to restrict the use of media in the foreseeable future.