When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and way of life die out it is pointless to keep them alive.To what extent do you agree or disagree?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

When it comes to technology, there is always some debatable aspects of whether its advantages outweigh the drawbacks. it seems that the most likely to be affected is the traditional lifestyle. Some people would fully abandon the traditional way of living. The writer is aware of different arguments, therefore, this essay will consider both sides and present the supporting evidence before we reach the conclusive analysis.

In some big cities where the modernization and industrialization have buried the traditional identity, their society would agree that technology is more likely to become their first choice before everything. There is no longer ethnicity acknowledgment. Take Jakarta in Indonesia for example, we barely find any traditional element that representation of the Batavian or Betawi lifestyle. However, this is not absolutely the case. If we give a visit to Tokyo, the capital of Japan, we can observe that technology can marry traditional way of living. Often the inspiration for technology advancement comes from the preserved Japanese heritage. You can easily find a robot wearing kimono in a restaurant or a busker robot playing its tribal music on the street.

Millenials, in most of the developed western countries, more likely to put the word traditional as an impediment towards technological development. While we may argue that there is a negative correlation between the chance of better technology if there is a tendency of losing traditions, eradicating tradition does not really a guarantee of better living. Therefore, there is no necessity in writing off the long-established way of living. In fact, some countries that have abandoned their traditions are seeking their old identity. There are many reasons of course, why they are looking back to their abandoned traditions, but mostly for economical reason.

Bali can give a good example for coupling technology and traditional life. Balinese are well known for observing their traditions religiously even when there are so many western tourists visiting for a trip or business. They never disagree to acknowledge the modernization but they also never had a doubt that they will continue to preserve their traditional life style. A survey conducted by sociologist reported that traditional lifestyle will likely to be beneficial to the observance as it gives them a sense of identity. The sense of identity, according to social psychologists, is important for people well-being.

In conclusion, preserving traditions in the middle of modernized cities that bombarded by the advancement of technology is imperative. Traditions are not in a position to hinder the use and inventions of technology. Moreover, traditions are our roots that give us a direction of where we came from, an identity that should be protected.