When designing a building, the most important feature is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you argree or disagree.

There has been some debate and people has been saying the most important aspect when designing the building is the exterior. I would argue that the construction purpose should be more valued than the appearance.

First, how the building work is the key to consider the design. There is a lot of building types such as commercial building, shopping centre, school and hospital. Each one has its own purpose and a particular design to serve it. Therefore it is crucial to focus on the functionality of the building, not the exterior. For instance, if a company intended to move to a new building, they would consider the design based on the working space to utilize the operation of staff.

Second, safe and comfort should be prioritized, not the beauty of the building. Although a good-looking building enhances the beauty of its surroundings, without meeting its basic function, it would be a waste. Specifically, one basic necessity of any building is safety, that is, it needs to be sturdy and durable. For example , a hospital has to possess a wide walkway, a good amount of rooms, emergency exits and can withstand unexpected circumstances. Without that things, a hospital can not perform the work fluently without satisfying the patient when they come to it.

In conclusion, both the exterior and interior are important factors in designing a building. However, if I had a limited budget and only could afford to choose one or the other, I would prefer the function of a building.