While people in developing countries are happier than in the past, people in developed countries are less happy. Why? What can be learnt from this?

In recent years, it has become more common for people living in developing nations to be happier while those living in developed countries are not often in this state. There are various reasons for this, and this current situation also comes along with many valuable lessons to learn from.

Since happiness is people's own emotion and it comes from random, little things such as going out with their best friends or watching a movie on Netflix on Saturday night. Residents who live in developing regions will likely have more free time to enjoy quality time with family and friends, hence, not only keeping them in a peaceful state of mind but also developing nice and close relationships surrounding them all the time. And then when they feel sad or lonely, they can reach out to their loved ones, and share their stories and thoughts, therefore, become relaxed and happier. Furthermore, individuals living in developed nations may not have this luck with the booming of different kinds of industries along with the fast-paced lifestyle. Because citizens including adults and children are likely to put all their time and efforts focusing on their future goals and success rather than their own emotions. Due to the lack of connection between each individual, society will become more and more emotionally distant while gradually forming a generation gap. For instance, 78% of teenagers who live in Los Angeles care more about their appearances, what clothes they are wearing, and how many likes they are getting from all the social media platforms than a cozy dinner or having a conversation with their families, according to the BBC News.

Although, individuals and governments can learn from this in order to turn their society into a happier place with joy and laughs everywhere and every time. Firstly, local authorities should promote fun activities to reconnect people into a community along with broadcasting several yet interesting comedy shows on TV instead of dramas and gossip news. Secondly, companies should cut down working hours and increase the number of days off, holidays and same to school. Therefore, families and friends can have time to gather and get to know each others' feelings instead of the economy's growth or some celebrities' insights. All these implementations will potentially boost residents' happy state up to a higher rate. If they have a clear headspace to keep studying and working hard, the education system, economy, and all kinds of fields will also benefit from this result.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believed that each individual has caused this without their knowledge. However, it can be improved by encouraging people to be more engaged in community campaigns with actions needed from the government as well as the local authorities.