While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing environmental problem which we have at the moment, others believe that deforestation has a more devastating impact on our world.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The environment is a growing concern nowadays, with many pointing out at alarming raise in temperature as the most serious issue, while others debate that the consequences of deforestation aggravate more on the ecosystem. Personally, I believe that both factors are equally dangerous for the planet.

The average temperature of the Earth is increasing at a fast peace melting glaciers and evaporating lakes and ocean. As a result, heavy floods and drought are devastating many nations across the globe, threating local economies. Weather forecast in the last 10 years shows that overall temperature has increased by 4°C around the globe and especially in Africa, where it is aggravating water scarcity and loss of crops as well. According to the UN, as a consequence this year more than 20% of people in the region will suffer from hunger, and the percentage is expected to grow in the following years.

Another rising concern is deforestation. Many people argue that it can devastate the environment and have serious repercussion on citizens' health. It is widely recognized that trees cut down carbon dioxide levels and produce oxygen, a vital gas for human body. Therefore, a decrease in forests areas can deteriorate air quality and weaken public' health as well. In China, for example, smog has increased by 5% as a consequence of substantial deforestation and a national survey reveals that the percentage of lung disease patients has doubled in 10-year period.

However, I believe that both issues can profoundly devastate our ecosystem. On the one hand, climate change is threating different species thus reducing biodiversity of the planet. In Antarctic, for example, penguins are perishing due to the change in temperature. Similarly, ocean fauna is changing as well, especially the wheels, which population diminishes every year. On the other hand, life on the Earth is absolutely impossible without oxygen. The scientists from NASA hypothesize that, if deforestation continues to grow, a lack in oxygen will make the world not inhabitable within 80 years.

In conclusion, although global warming is viewed by many as the most worrying environmental issue, deforestation plays an equal role as the loss of trees will curb oxygen production putting the survival of humans of humans under threat.